Stephen Coonts' Journal

with 3 comments

My next literary crime will have Tommy Carmellini in Eastern Europe.  Went there in October and the trip helped stimulate my imagination.  Deb and I think seeing the places where the action is to take place, hearing the sounds, smelling the smells, all of that helps make your story come alive in your imagination.  She is working on her fourth Vegas novel, and diving deep into Vegas these last two years has really helped her.  Through the years I have visited new territory to use as settings, such as Moscow, Kiev, Budapest and Vienna, and revisited lots of other places to refresh my memory, such as Naples, London, Paris, Hong Kong, Tokyo, etc.

Who knew that writing fiction would require so much travel?

Written by stephencoonts

December 2, 2009 at 9:22 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “The disciple” was your best to date. I just blew an afternoon because I couldn’t put the book down. Oh well, it was cold and snowing anyway.

    Tom Deasy

    December 13, 2009 at 8:33 pm

  2. I always think of Prague as somehow the center of the current “spy” world and wish I could go to look around. When I tried my hand at writing a couple years ago, most of the action took palce in London, where I’ve been often, but I wanted to move on to Prague. It used to be that the remade countries of eastern Europe were a center of arms smuggling in exchange for the sale of drugs. I wonder if this still is the case? I can’t afford to purchase any of the Jane’s Reviews, but I do get the weekly news briefs from them for Security, Intelligence and Defense which gives a very brief account of foreign activity in those areas. If I find anything I want to go into more deeply, I google it. LOL

    Gail

    December 15, 2009 at 10:25 pm

  3. Read just about everything you wrote, cept the “Cannibal Queen” and ‘Deep Black, Sea of Terror’ (On the table now)but, I just finished “Arctic Gold” a half hour ago, saw your website listed at the back and thought it might be a good idea to tell you that I enjoyed your work and wish you a good new year. I have a feeling its going to be an interesting one. Keep a sharp pencil.

    Robert

    December 28, 2010 at 5:18 pm


Leave a Reply

