Stephen Coonts' Journal

with 12 comments

In The Disciple, my novel published in December, 2009, I had a subplot about the fundamental Muslims’ view of God, set forth by a religious scholar, Dr. Ishar Murad, who writes a manuscript setting forth his vision of God, a large God, one who created all living things.

Dr. Murad leaves us with his conclusion that we should, “Be kind, compassionate, merciful to your fellow man.  There are all manner of ways of saying it, but they all amount to the same thing.  Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.  Love thy neighbor as theyself.  Judge not that you be not judged.  Treat everyone as if he were a true believer.”

Imagine my surprise today, March 7, when I found an article in the Weekend edition of The Wall Street Journal by Matthew Kaminski about Mosab Hassan Yousef, the son of a currently imprisoned leader of the Palestinian terrorist group Hamas.  Yousef currently resides in the Peoples Republic of California, a refugee from the insanity of the Middle East.

Yousef was raised the son of a devout, traditional Palestine Muslim, and decided to become a Christian and spy for Shin Bet, Israel’s internal security force.  In 2006, he chucked it all and left for California.  Kaminski quotes Yousef as saying, “I’m not trying to convert the nation of Israel and the entire nation of Palestine to Christianity.  But at least you can educate them about the ideology of love, the ideology of forgiveness, the ideology of grace.  Those principles are great regardless, but you can’t deny they came from Christianity as well.”

Yousef is futher quoted as saying, “(My father) is not a fanatic.  He’s a very moderate, logical person.  What matters is not whether my father is a fanatic or not, he’s doing the will of a fanatic God.  It doesn’t matter if he’s a terrorist or traditional Muslim.  At the end of the day a traditional Muslim is doing the will of a fanatic, fundamentalist, terrorist God… The problem is not in Muslims.  The problem is with their God.  They need to be liberated from their God.  He is their biggest enemy.  It has been 1,400 years they have been lied to.”

Dr. Murad didn’t put it quite so bluntly, but I think he made the same point.

Written by stephencoonts

March 7, 2010 at 11:53 am

Posted in Uncategorized

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Steve–

    Worshiping the wrong God is hardly something new, nor is it something only fanatics have done.

    My suspicion is that, the further we travel away from the original message which resulted in the birth of a religion, any religion, the further we get from an accurate representation of what was originally given as the message.

    Your Dr Murad nails it for me. It doesn’t have to be hard or require some priestly class to connect us to Source in order to understand what is expected of us.

    On a more personal note, I’m very glad to have wandered by today–I have not read The Disciple yet and now will plan to do so as soon as I can! I had not heard of your new one, Steve. Guess I’m outta the loop a bit.

    Rick

    March 8, 2010 at 6:16 pm

  2. Just finished “The Disciple” an excellent and exciting read that is unusual in todays genre in that it does not “bash” Islaam but recognisies extremists exist in all areas of life and need to be highlighted and isolated my the poer of the majority.

    Thanks for superb entertainment

    Melbourne, Australia

    Martyn

    March 10, 2010 at 9:21 pm

  3. I am a huge fan of your novels. I am currently involved in the “Deep Black” series and am reading Arctic Cold at the moment. I am curious about how you came upon all of your decidedly inside knowledge of the workings of the NSA. In Arctic Cold you are dealing with GCHQ, Menwith Hill and other suposedly secret places. You describe Menwith Hill as having been established in 1966. In 1966 I was stationed at REF Chicksands in Bedfordshire. In 1966 Raf Harrogate was a US Army listening post the was turned over to the NSA and re-worked as Menwith Hill. There was also an USAF listening post at RAF Kirknewton in Scotland which, along with RAF Chicksands and anothe listening post at Bremerhaven in Germany, comprised the 6950th Security Wing of the USAF Security Service. Raf chicksands was closed donw in 1994 and turned over the GCHQ when it became a training site for the British. As of now I know of only three listening posts still in operation. Menwith Hill, Alice Springs (Australia) and the Falls Church, VA.

    I was glad to see that you included Missawa, Japan in your book. There was another listening post at Wakkanai, Japan and another at St. Lawerence Island, Alaska at the hieght of the cold war there were NSA listening posts all around the world. From Pakistan, Turkey, Italy, Crete, South Vietnam, Philipines, and even one in the Bahamas.

    Thank you for your time to listen to my goings on as part of No Such Agency. It was an enjoyable 3.5 Years and hopefully we did some good in the world.

    Ron Jacobson

    April 17, 2010 at 9:32 am

  4. I’m going to send a picture of myself wiht all your books I bought in hardcover to post on your website.
    Ron Bos’n Odoski
    CWO4 USN(Ret.)

    Ron Odoski

    June 16, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    • Please do. Will get them posted to “How Do You Get Your Coonts’ Fix”.
      Steve

      stephencoonts

      December 30, 2011 at 8:04 am

  5. My most recent read is your “Asassin”. Lots of fun and relief from the everyday: however, on p329 as the book is concluding, your very advanced years came barging through with the reporters’
    “popping flashbulbs”. Now I’ve been around a lot longer than you and even I need to reach way back, about 30 years, to remember electronic flash replacing “popping flashbulbs”.

    I still had a great time with this book.

    Jack Thomas

    Jack Thomas

    June 22, 2010 at 9:21 am

  6. We, at the National Flight Aviation Museum, wanted you to know what an experience it was for you to speak at our tenth symposium. Your comments really added a great deal and what thrill to be able to purchase your book and have it autographed by someone so sincere and kind. Please share your thoughts about the symposium in Pensacola.

    Christy

    June 22, 2010 at 7:16 pm

  7. I just noticed you recently made available to eReaders “Final Fight”. I hope you are planning to put more of your books in the .pdb(palm desktop books) format.

    I have been reading books on the palm for many years before the Kindles and nooks, and I still prefer this format.

    Lover the Jake character and would love to have them all on my Palm.

    Your faithful reader,

    tj

    Tim

    July 23, 2010 at 1:22 pm

  8. Visiting your site for the first time in a long while. Was pleased to see your blog. This post in particular strikes me as interesting, precisely because so much of our modern grappling with Islam focuses entirely on questions of economics and global power games, when really it does seem to boil down to what sort of deity does a Muslim worship? The soft sort, or the ‘hard’ sort? Seems to me the men who flew airliners into the World Trade Center were praying to a particularly ‘hard’ version of God, and that millions of other Muslims worship that same ‘hard’ God is reason for great concern, especially with Pakistan and other nations having (getting?) their hands on nuclear weapons and other dreadfully destructive technology.

    Brad R. Torgersen

    August 19, 2010 at 1:48 pm

  9. Steve, I have read all your novels (I think) and have started collecting the Tommy Carmellini / Jake Grafton series. I’ve loved them all. My question is: How often do you release a new title and when will you or your publishers release a new Carmellini story? I also collect 1st editions of Lee Child, Brad Thor, and Vince Flynn. You ALL are to be thanked for making the American population open their eyes and think twice. A job well done Steve. 4-0

    Tom Hauser

    November 24, 2010 at 10:31 pm

  10. Steve, I served with you in V-2 on Nimitz(I was Cat#4). I have been reading your books since Flight of the Intruder and just started the Deep Black series. Thanks for the adventure(s). Good timing on the Disiple and I will look forward to raeding it.

    Paul Nellis

    December 17, 2010 at 8:22 pm

  11. Just wondering ifyou ever knew an AF pilot by the name of Elmer Gleske,a Lt.Col.-also V/P of Flight Safety,Intn’l.He was in 2 campaigs over Nam.He passed away 1/31/10 @ 79.Just wondering if you ever came across him-he was a very good friend of mine and I miss him.Loved your Deep Black-I believe everything you wrote about the Muslims.YUK!!!!!God deliver us!!!gj

    Gloria Stein Jackson

    March 26, 2011 at 9:56 pm


Leave a Reply

