Stephen Coonts' Journal

New book coming May 22, 2012

with 10 comments

The Sea Witch is a collection of short fiction by Stephen Coonts which was first published in anthologies from 1999 to 2003. The first story, a novella, which gives its title to the collection, is the story of a Black Cat squadron in the western Pacific in the desperate days of 1943. Flying PBY Catalinas painted flat black, the squadrons ranged the night oceans hunting Japanese shipping, which they attacked.

The second story, The 17th Day, is a World War I flying story that was first published in 1999 in a collection edited by the late Martin Greenberg entitled First To FIght. Only the most hard-core Stephen Coonts fans have read this one.

The third story, a novella, is entitled al-Jihad, which means, the Jihad or holy war. You will be amazed to discover who is fighting the holy war in this tale of murder, terrorism and revenge.

The Sea Witch will be published in hardcover by Tor Books on May 22, 2012. Look for it in your favorite bookstore, or order it on-line at one of the usual places. Happy Reading.

Written by stephencoonts

April 18, 2010 at 5:25 am

Posted in Uncategorized

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi, Am reading “The Disciple” and really enjoying it. The possibilities of this becoming true are scary.
    Tell me, how are you able to use real names? I would have thought it was risky from a litigation point of view.
    Anyway, Thanks for a great read
    Paul.

    Paul Nicolson

    April 21, 2010 at 1:11 am

  2. Stephen,
    You were my personnel officer when I was a wet behind the ears Airman in VA-196. I have read most of your books as well. You are a much better writer than navigator. Every time I read one of your books it brings back many memories. success to you “Wrong Way”.

    T.

    Tom Loveday

    April 26, 2010 at 5:30 pm

  3. I love your books and look forward to a new one coming out. I live in Charlotte NC but have bowhunted southern WV and Va for years. I think WV has always had a bad rap; friendly folks and one heck of a beautiful state. I hunted with a guy in Rutherforton NC who always used to go in to the freshly plowed up corn fields in search of arrowheads. He had a pretty decent collection.Thanks good giving me hours of enjoyment reading your books. Frederick Reed

    frederick reed

    May 31, 2010 at 5:36 pm

  4. Steve,

    Just finished reading the Canibal Queen which I thoroughly enjoyed. I could not put it down. Since we are living in a motorhome touring the country it fit right in with our present lifestyle. Also liked the philosophical, life, and political comedy.

    Just started my firt Black novel. Really enjoyed Flight of the Intruder some years ago.

    Keep up the good work!!!!

    Amby N.

    Amby Nangeroni

    August 13, 2010 at 8:55 pm

  5. Hi stephen coonts

    I hope you get this message. I has just finished reading deep black and i thought it was very good. i am 15 and read about 2 books a wek and i didn’t want it to finish. i am so gald that there are more books with charlie dean becasue i found him a great character

    yours georgina wilson
    England

    Georgina

    September 30, 2010 at 11:39 am

  6. I was interested in knowing if there would be any more Saucer, and Conquest books coming out? Jerry Grant

    Jerry Grant

    December 1, 2010 at 2:54 pm

  7. I’ve been a fan for a long time and have read all your novels, just now finishing ‘The Disciple.’ I’m quite disappointed in you, however, because you’ve allowed yourself to color your writing with your personal political prejudices. Using ‘Pelosi’ instead of ‘s**t’ in The Disciple was uncalled for. I’m asking you not to turn into a Brad Thor and slant all your writing one way. There are other readers out there who are not right-wing Tea Partiers and you’re in dangerous territory when you start playing the political game. Leave that crap to Beck and Limbaugh and do what you do better than anyone out there, write great thrillers. To have Tommy Carmellini, a young thief who’s forced to work for the CIA, espouse right-wing ideals is ridiculous (unless, of course, you think thieves belong in the right-wing – personally, I think they’re on both sides of the aisle, especially in the Senate). I see Tommy as leaning liberal and he doesn’t support either party. Again, I ask, leave the C&&p to Beck, he’s really good at it!

    Ron Whiteman

    December 9, 2010 at 1:43 pm

  8. Bring on Tommy Carmellini again and stay with the theme that the world is not a safe place. I know some people would like all books based on the idea “all we need is love” but that is not the way it is. It is good to see a hero that is all man don’t change him just do another book with TC as the main character. I have followed your work for years. Ron

    Ron Davidson

    January 3, 2011 at 5:09 pm

  9. Over the years, I have read everything that you have written, including those tomes that you have co-authored. I have found all of them to be great reads. I feel that you embrace the political and historical states that we find ourselves in, in fact, and not the way that a relative few would like it to be. We live in a very dangerous world.
    On another note, I am looking forward to the release of ‘Deep Black: Death Wave”. This potential tsunami plot from the Canary Islands was dealt with rather well in Patrick Robinson’s 2004 book ‘Scimitar SL-1’. I want to read your take on it.

    Steve Frazee

    January 21, 2011 at 4:26 pm

  10. I’ve been a fan of yours since Flight of the Intruder.

    I’m on page 200 of Deep Black; Death Wave and in light of what has just happened in Japan, I’m amazed.

    I feel the earthquake in Japan is a natural event but your book does raise serious questions.

    Keep on writing, please!

    Jim Toler

    March 16, 2011 at 1:29 pm


Leave a Reply

